Homeschool Mother’s Journal

homeschool Mothers Journal

In my life this week…

I have been busy with distractions. I feel like I am dreamily moving from one thing to another without actually accomplishing much. I have been overwhelmed with small tasks that just can’t ever seem to get done. We finally got Christmas put away but I have yet to fill all those spots that the Christmas decorations had taken up. Actually as a matter a fact those spots have now been taken up by toys. {sigh} Toys. Toys. Everywhere. Oh, and junk. You know the kind that sneaks in behind your back and slowly takes up residence, and before you know it you actually forget that it doesn’t belong there.

 

mess

I know. I should be embarrassed. But this is the real me. The me that you get if you just show up at my door un-announced.

I also started a new part-time job that I just knew I would love and I’m sure I will, but it turns out it’s work. Who would have thought? Winking smile I came home one night feeling like I ran a marathon!

 

In our homeschool this week…

I have been so discouraged. You know the crawl up in your favorite chair and want to cry kind of discouraged. It has been a battle the whole week with all of our school work. I really began to doubt our decision to homeschool. I did manage to pull it together by today and realize that I just need to take a fresh look at what we are doing and what’s not working. I’m going to spend some time on that this weekend. Today we spent part of our school time doing fun file folder games. I really just needed to end the week on a good note.

DSCN9878

 

Helpful homeschooling tips to share…

Being prideful isn’t helpful. Sometimes the problem is not always my children. Sometimes it’s me. They are often true reflections of me and my heart. {scary}

 

My favorite thing this week…

We took our oldest to the Titanic exhibit at our Science Museum. She has recently been fascinated by the story. We had a great time getting to look at all the artifacts. I’m thankful we live in an area that has so many of these great opportunities.

 

Titanic

 

Things I’m working on…

Lesson Planning and preparation. I want to be more prepared for my children with their schooling. Some days we just wing it and do too much workbook stuff. It’s part of the reason why we have had some rough days. They love the days when we have games and projects to work on. It really isn’t too hard to make games out things we are studying.

I’m also doing some freezer cooking planning. It’s been a while and I miss have a stockpile of things to choose from on those nights when life gets too busy for me to cook.

 

Places we’re going and people we are seeing

Sadly, today we are attending the funeral of the mother of a sweet friend of ours. Our hearts are broken for their family and we are praying God’s peace and comfort for them all.

 

I’m grateful for…

My husband. I don’t know what I would do without him. He is so helpful and is so wonderful at giving me a “break” in the evenings when I need it. (I have needed it a lot this week)

The many, many people who have blessed our lives this past year in so many ways. I was just thinking about this yesterday. I’m thankful that God uses them to bless us.

 

Something Funny…

chicken

Leave a Reply

