Just a few thoughts…

HSMJ-wideIHN

In my life this week…

Busy. The beginning of the school year is always that way. All school activities start up again along with dance classes, soccer practices, meetings and appointments. {sigh} I feel like I spent the better part of this week in the car.

balletolivia

In our homeschool this week…

I am loving My Father’s World. I wasn’t sure I could commit to a curriculum but as it turns out not only have I been committed to it, but I have really enjoyed our days. The pressure is off of trying to piece together my own curriculum and I have the freedom to expand the lessons and add in extra fun activities. Why didn’t I do this sooner?  Our school days have been productive and lacking in tears…which is always nice.

I am inspired by…

Our church is going through the 40 Days In The Word  bible study., I am being challenged to go back to the basics. Sometimes that’s what we all need to do.

What’s not working?…

Organization. I feel like I have lost all control of any organization in this house. I can’t keep up with the cleaning or the meal planning.

Questions/thoughts I have…

If only I could suspend time for half a day…imagine what I could get done. Clean house, school plan, coupon clip, menu plan, grocery shop…and nap. Ok. Maybe I would need a whole day- or two.

Things I’m working on…

I have no projects started, except for my to do list in my head. Honestly I really need to clean house. I can only manage to stay on top of a few rooms, but it’s beginning to look a little scary in other places. Please promise me that if you stop by you will only go as far as the living room Winking smile 

I’m reading…

I am still reading One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are  I only have a few chunks of time here and there so it’s slow going but if you haven’t read it yet- and you want/need to have more joy in your life…you should run to your nearest book store and grab it. There is so much good stuff in Ann Voskamp’s book that I could literally underline every page.

I’m cooking…

Despite my Pinterest board with great looking recipes I have pinned, I have been completely uninspired in the kitchen as of late. I do have a great big crockpot full of beans right now waiting to be turned into been and cheese burritos for the kids lunches, but we are seriously lacking in the meal planning department. I’m planning to do some freezer cooking here soon to help out with those rushed week  night meals.

I’m grateful for…

Wow! Where to start? I have too much to even list. Seriously I am so blessed in my life. I have wonderful family and friends, a more than wonderful husband, sweet children, a great church, a lovely home…so much more than I deserve.

A photo to share…

 

legotime

8 Responses

  1. Wow what a great week you had. I’ve been reading a lot of bloggers are using My Father’s World. Thanks for the link. Always searching out curriculum.

  2. I had my meeting with our support teacher this week. I was going please don’t ask to see the house. Top floor was clean. The basement is a disaster. It has my older two’s bedroom, TV room and play area. On the list for them to clean tomorrow. I have to catch up on the upstairs now.

  3. It does always seem to be a struggle to keep up with everything! Sounds like you’re doing a great job being grateful in the midst of it, though–I think that keeps the overwhelmed feeling in check.

  4. I totally feel you on organizational issues – we’ve been working on our kitchen so everything is topsy turvy and I definitely haven’t been cooking any of the things I’ve pinned on Pinterest recently! 😉

  5. I didnt see in you grateful post… Uh, ME!

  6. When you find that way to stop time I will be sooooo excited too! I have thought about just pulling one all nighter, but the recovery time would possible defeat me! I’m getting too old for that kind of thing! :O)

  7. Oh, those weeks of feeling as though you live in the car are tough ones!

Leave a Reply

