Homeschooling…{Take 4}- the fourth year- that is

DSCN1808

The first day of school usually holds a few mixed emotions, I have lamented over it here and here. And although this year was no different, I only allowed myself five minutes to panic, worry, doubt, cry- and then I moved on. And I’m glad I did. It was a great first day! The kids were excited – All of them – even my “There’s nothing I like about school kid” And we got a lot accomplished. One of the beauties of homeschooling is that the first day of school doesn’t have to be spent going over rules and routines. We can just jump right into it- and we did!

 

Even homeschoolers need first day of school pictures!

zoe3rd

zack1st

liviprek

Starting the day off right!

DSCN1796

 

At the beginning of each year I have them do an “all about me” activity. I love looking back at the end of the year and seeing what has changed. I ask them to draw pictures of themselves, family, to tell about what they like and what they want to be when they grow up…that kind of fun stuff.

DSCN1806

 

DSCN1813  Although Olivia knows her alphabet quite well, we are going to do a quick review of the letters and sounds at the beginning of the year.

DSCN1814

This year we are adding an intensive geography study to our curriculum. I’m excited to learn along with them! Using the suggestion for a beginning geography lesson from Leigh Bortins The Core: Teaching Your Child the Foundations of Classical Education  we are mapping out the equator, Arctic circle, Antarctic Circle, Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn.

DSCN1816

 

 

 

Spelling Words!

DSCN1819

It has become our tradition to celebrate our first day with a trip out to dinner.

Whew! On to Day 2 …

Leave a Reply

