On My Bookshelf

I don’t know if you have noticed but I am trying to be more consistent in my blog posts. I figure the only way to do this is to have some regular posts, a mist all of my random ones.

So I thought I would take a friends lead and share the books I’m reading.

This book is called The Fruit of Her Hands, Respect and the Christian Woman. It was recommended to me a couple of years ago, and I placed it on my paperback swap list. It took a while for me to get it, but it’s taken even longer for me to read it! I don’t know why, because I am loving it. I always love a book that doesn’t hold back when it comes to how we should be living for Christ. I am only a few chapters in, but there are already great nuggets of wisdom and true conviction. Here are a few things that I have underlined thus far.

We must find out what the Bible teaches about marriage, about children, about men and women and their roles, and then we must be obedient with no apologies, no matter what the cost. Is this radical Christianity? No. This is basic Christianity.

Sometimes I wonder where the church would be today if the men in it were respected as they ought to be by their wives. What power would God unleash through godly men who were respected in their homes?

When women love God and love their husbands biblically, men who have been reluctant to take leadership begin to feel the weight of their responsibility. When the wife is seizing the responsibility, he does not necessarily feel the need to fulfill his obligations. And women don’t really want the responsibility after all. If you are a daughter of Sarah, neither do you.

Doesn’t it sound truth bearing!  As with every book of this nature, I’m sure I’ll run into things I don’t necessarily agree with, or that I find to be a little harsh. But I might be surprised.

Here is what the back cover of the book says:

Imagine where the Church would be today if the men in it were respected as they ought to be by their wives. What power would God unleash through godly men who were respected in their homes?

Wives, instead of focusing on your husband’s problems and shortcomings, look at what you are supposed to be doing yourself.

In the Song of Solomon we read, “Like an apple tree among the sons.” So what is your perspective when you look at your husband? Is it biblical or does it stem from all those modern lies which surround us?

Leave a Reply

