Revamping the menu planning

I have been quite terrible this past few weeks with grocery shopping and menu planning. We have been going to the grocery store and just buying things we think we might use or need for the next week. This has led to multiple trips to the store for forgotten or needed items, and as a few of you know, shopping isn’t really my favorite thing.

Realizing this wasn’t working for us, I spent some time (two evenings, to be exact) and came up with a menu plan for the entire month. Along with the plan I wrote out a grocery list for every item I would need for all those meals. Then… I went shopping! I spent $156.00 on groceries for 4 weeks, although I still need to return for the store for ground beef. Without the ground beef, we are averaging around $39.00 a week. I expect this number to go up some after purchasing the meat and having to return to the store for fresh produce a couple of times.

I don’t know how this will work for us in actuality but I am going to give it a month and then reevaluate. 

You can check out the menu and the grocery list here and here.

Leave a Reply

