HOME

Home, it’s something I have been thinking a lot about lately. What does it mean to me? What do I want it to mean for my family?

I want our home to be a place of rest. We are not at a place in our lives where that happens in the physical realm, but spiritually I want us and those that enter to be renewed and at peace. I want our home to be comfort. I have been accused more than once of being a clean freak… really it’s all relative. Trust me my house is often a mess. For me a clean house is comfort. More than that though I want people who visit to feel like they can put of their feet and share their heart, for me this means that I sometimes have to let go of the clean house and just focus on the relationship. I want our home to be a reflection of who we are when we are at our best and worst. This means not putting up airs that our life is perfect, but sharing how God has worked in every situation for our good. Such a cliché, but I believe the saying “Home is where your heart is” When I think of our home, it conjures up warm and fuzzy thoughts, mostly because it’s where my family lives. I know this isn’t true for everyone and it wasn’t always for me, but we can always take heart in knowing that we have an eternal home waiting for us with a Father that will encompass all that home should be.

One Response

  1. Angela- I so agree with this. You can pray for me this past year has been hard as we have had lots of transition and right now are still trying to find a place to live after living out of a suitcase for the past 6 weeks. One thing I have realized from it is of course the obvious we aren’t truly home until heaven. But one practical I have learned is that routine is so important to me for it to feel like home. It’s hard when you are moving a lot or in transition adjusting to new things. But we are trying to be better about having our family devotions in the morning and our Bible/prayer time at night. With out them and that consistency I can feel really lost!

Leave a Reply

