A new creation

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!                                   2 Corinthians 5:17

I especially love the exclamation point at the end of the verse- I don’t know how that translates in the original text but I like to think that it just reiterates very strongly that I am indeed a new creation. I have been doing a lot of reflecting on the past these past few weeks, mostly because In the process of cleaning out and de-junking I have come across just about every journal and diary I have kept since 3rd grade. And there is nothing like coming face to face with your sinful past as reading it through your own words. The first day I came across a few of them I sat and spent an hour browsing through them and then spent the rest of the day crying over the person I was. The phrase {If not for the Grace of God…}  resonated within my soul all day. Today I came across my college journals and although It was still a little sad to read through them It was fun to see where God began to step into my life and change me. One especially “fun” entry to read was a college trip that I took over Spring Break to Panama City Beach- There are a few of you reading  this that were on that trip with me- so you would probably remember me at that time. I would love to figure out a way to get that entry to all of you. That was a pivotal point in my faith, where I really struggled with my beliefs. It’s amazing to look back and see how God never let me go- and I can continue to hold on to the promise that he will keep working on me until the end.

2 Responses

  1. Angela, I do remember that Spring Break- I felt so bad for you too b/c you lost your debit card. Hey, its good to reflect on what we were- it reminds us of how merciful God is! I dont have journals from before I was a believer but the ones from my freshman year when I became one are funny. The things I contemplated if I really needed to stop doing seem so obvious now! So thankful for a God who makes all things new!

  2. BTW that was Kellie!

Leave a Reply

