Making the commitment

I am not one of those moms that feels the need to get away from my children for a little “me” time. Sure I enjoy a night out, but very seldom is it because I feel like I have to have one. Lately I have discovered that although I don’t necessarily need to be away from our children, my marriage does. So much of our focus is on our children and the day-to-day living that we don’t spend much time alone just hanging out. We are going through a Marriage Emphasis at church and our Sunday School teacher shared that in the book His Needs Her Needs the author challenges us to spend 15 hours of uninterrupted time with our spouse a week. CRAZY. The author obviously hasn’t met our children, or most families with young children. But I’m up for a challenge and If I really stop to think about it, all that time we spend doing meaningless tasks in the evening or the time spent laying in bed watching t.v. can aptly be spent with each other in more meaningful ways. So although I don’t think we can clock in 15 hours alone a week, I’m going to work on at least a few more. This past weekend my parents graciously kept our children for an entire day and night. It was so much fun just hanging out with each other. We shopped, had dinner, went for ice cream and picked up a movie. It wasn’t original but the best part of it all was that we talked. We actually had several uninterrupted conversations, and for those that know my husband-he’s not a talker, so having the chance to just sit and talk was a real treat for me. I am committed to make sure that we connect like this more often.

4 Responses

  1. Good for you Angela – it is so important! 15 hrs does sound like a lot. I think I will monitor and see what we normally do.

    I have to say you must be an extroidanary mom with a lot of patience- I’m sure you are. I am not!! Lately I have really felt like I “need” breaks. I know I “need” what God gives and sometimes that means no breaks. What I really need is to rely on him in those moments when it feels like the sanity is slipping!

  2. Kellie, I read your comment, and had to laugh. I should have probably been more specific by saying I don’t feel the need to get away most days. I probably do have a lot of patience but I do have a very “trying” son and a house full of children several days of the week. I’m a homebody at heart, and home is where I find my rest. Although I stay pretty busy, which is also probably why I don’t feel like I have to get out regularly. You are SO RIGHT about relying on God throughout the day specifically in the middle of a mommy crisis. I often have to remind myself of whose in control.

  3. I think being near each other without kids running around is having “our time alone”. What type of “meaningful time together” are you guys looking for? just relaxing watching tv together or getting the chance to go out for supper somewhere alone, I look forward to those moments with Brian.

  4. 15 hours of uninterrupted time, wow. I will definately have to observe how much time we spend together. I’m glad that you and Steven were able to spend time together. Aren’t grandparents wonderful???

Leave a Reply

