Making Christmas Meaningful

As we embark once again into this holiday season, we begin again with the question; how do we make this season about Christ and not about Santa and the Gifts. Two years ago I wrote about how we don’t do Santa at our house, you can read about it here- No Santa? This year we have incorporated the Jesse Tree into our Christmas Traditions. The idea of the Jesse tree comes from Isaiah 11:1-9, In Isaiah 11:1 we read, “A shoot shall come out from the stump of Jesse, and a branch shall grow out of his roots.” Jesse was the father of David, The greatest king of Israel. And it was from David’s lineage that Jesus came. The basic premise of the tree is teaching our children the reason why Christ’s birth is so important. We are using a little 2 foot tree we have, and every night Steven reads a devotion and we decorate and hang a ornanment on the tree pertaining to that particular devotion. So far I have just made the ornaments out of construction paper or we have printed them off from one of the many Jesse tree websites or blogs out there. In the years to come I might start buying relevant ornaments as I find them. I’ll post a picture soon. Our children have really loved doing this. I have also been trying to explain to our children the whole idea of it’s better to give then receive, but they still really like the idea of getting gifts 🙂 I guess… who doesn’t.
I do want to say that despite our efforts the children have decided to believe in Santa Claus anyway. Although we have shared the history behind the man, and talked about how he is like any other fictional character, they still like the idea of him. We figure that we have done our part and as long as they want believe, we are fine to let them enjoy the fantasy.

3 Responses

  1. Angela,
    I think I found some little ornaments that I have been meaning to send to your little ones that should be just the perfect touch for your Jesse tree. I’ll get them mailed out Monday.

  2. Angela- I think it’s funny how they still want to believe in Santa. Lucy is like that too- although I think she knows she is pretending. Lucy said to me the other day God is the most magical of all. I thought that was good and liked it. Have a Merry Christmas!

    We have incorporated advent candles and advent boxes. It has been fun.

  3. oops- that was me Kellie = I guess I”m logged in as Dustin.

Leave a Reply

