Operation Fun Mom

I am not exactly what I would call “the fun mom” sure, I spend time with my children, we read, hang out, watch movies together yadda yadda yadda. But I don’t really play with them. This realization has hit me recently, and as I sit her typing while I listen to them, the guilt is mounting. I am definately a mommy that likes to keep my children busy coloring, painting, playing with playdough, etc. But I don’t usually participate in them, I usually keep watch while I go about my daily chores or browse a book or magazine. I’m not sure my children even notice, but I do. I want to want to play with them. So I have a plan. My goal is to do at least 3 activities with them a week where I just get down with them and be silly. I know 3 seems kind of lame, but I have to start somewhere. And to keep me accountable, I’m going to post about them at least once a week. On our Meals for Deals blog, we will be starting a series on Kids in the Kitchen, so hopefully this will also help get me motivated. Maybe eventually it will just come naturally and I won’t have to plan for it. Maybe by me posting about it, you will be inspired as well. If you already have fun things you like to do with your children please share.   So begins… Operation Fun Mom.

2 Responses

  1. So, I have this problem as well! Jake and I stamp together, draw or read together. He’s gotten so good at reading that it isn’t a chore for either of us at this point. Emma and I play kitchen (she gets to order me around- her idea of a fun time!… guess who she takes after- haha). That’s it. All I got for you, but it’s better than what I used to do which was nothing. (I feel your guilt!)

  2. I am the same way! I look forward to seeing your ideas!

Leave a Reply

