There is always something to worry about

Ok, so I had strep last week, and Steven has pink eye this week (hopefully, he’ll keep it to himself) and then Zoe started to complain about having a sore throat, so I grabbed a flashlight to look her mouth- I just wanted to see if her tonsils were big. Actually I have no idea what I really was looking for- I just learned a few months ago where your tonsils actually are, and I think throats are naturally red right? but in any case I was checking out her throat to see if it looked anything like mine did last week. Then I saw the oddest, and I mean oddest thing in the back of her throat.  The only way to describe it is to say it looks like a mini tongue? sticking up from the back of her throat. It’s about as wide as the tip of my thumb and about a quarter of an inch high. Its just hanging out back there. I googled it, and got a few ideas but none of them were exactly what she has.  I’m soooo not the paranoid mom type –  I tend to lean a little too much the other way. But we are going to the doctor anyway. And if it turns out to be nothing, hey- she did say she had a sore throat.

3 Responses

  1. I’m assuming you are not talking about the uvula… so it can be the epiglottis or the adenoids (which are like tonsils only a little higher up)

  2. Angela- I had strep two weeks ago- it was miserable- then everyone in our family proceeded to get sick. We are just coming out of the fog! So I feel for you.

  3. I just did the same thing, about 5 minutes ago! I found your blog by doing a google search on it because I freaked out too. Your description is just what I thought when I saw it in the back of my two yr old daughter’s throat! It looked like a second tongue! I was thinking “oh no! she’s deformed!!” haha
    Glad to know it’s normal!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

