The beginning of the end

We’re doing it! We are slowly taking the plunge into no pacie land. We figure it’s about time. With baby on the way and Zack being almost 2 1/2 we really need to start pulling him off his dependency of the binkie. We are down to just one, and it is used solely at bedtime but still he wants it-feels he needs it anytime he’s upset or just bored. He will actually try to hunt it down, creating a tornado like mess in his room. I have had to come up with creative places to hide it until bedtime -then of course when bedtime comes around I have often forgotten where I  put it, so then we all begin the hunt.  But on Monday I decided it was time.  I have thought about ways to do this that wouldn’t be traumantic  and cause him to have issues later in life that will inevitably place him in therapy, blaming his mom for some reason that he can’t remember 🙂 But most of the cute ideas like the binkie fairy just wouldn’t work on Zack- he’s not a fairy loving kind of boy- and the mere suggestion that there might be another baby out there that needs his pacie… Well let’s just say that Zack is not much into sharing these days. So when I heard that a friend broke her son of the pacie by slowly cutting it off a little at a time I thought -we’ll try that! And so we did. Monday I cut off the very tip not knowing if he would notice… He did! he kept saying it’s broken. I pretended to be baffled. Wednesday I cut a little more. He noticed that too. Me- I’m still baffled. I figure I’ll wait another day or so and cut some more. He keeps using it which really is baffling.  And since I know your dying to find out if this will work, I’ll keep you updated on the saga of the pacie.

One Response

  1. wooooooooooooooooooooooooooHooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!! Hooray for Zacky!

Leave a Reply

